Maura Dowdall Winner 2023

Maura Dowdall Concerto Competition Winners 2023

Published: 14th Mar, 2023

The 2023 Maura Dowdall Competition saw five exceptional musicians compete for the Maura Dowdall Award of €600 and a coveted performance opportunity with the National Symphony Orchestra. The Brian Dunning Memorial Prize, kindly supported by William Dowdall, is awarded to the highest-placed woodwind, brass player or percussionist and the Colin Staveley Memorial Prize, will be awarded to the highest placed string performer.

After a tough fought final performance in the Organ Room of the Royal Irish Academy of Music our jury of Deborah Kelleher, David Collins & Anthony Long we're delighted to announce the winners of the Maura Dowdall. 

Shane Quinn was announced as the winner of the Colin Staveley award after his fantastic performance of Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E Minor winning a prize of €300 which is kindly donated by the Staveley family. 

Rachel Nolan was announced as the winner of the Brian Dunning memorial prize which is kindly donated by Bill Dowdall after a great rendition of Nielsen's Flute Concerto. 

Pawel Waleski was crowned the winner of the Maura Dowdall prize of €600 kindly donated by the Dowdall family after his amazing performance of Chopin's Concerto in F minor also winning the opportunity to to perform as a soloist with the RTE National Symphony Orchestra (subject to suitable repertoire). 

A massive thank you to all who made it to the performance and thanks to our jury & donors, Deborah Kelleher, Director of RIAM, David Collins, Head of Wind, Brass & Percussion at RIAM & Anthony Long, Manager of the National Symphony Orchestra, Bill Dowdall & the Dowdall family and The Staveley Family.